European SF2HDR Double Elimination XBox Live Tournament #4

It’s been a few months since the last one, but now the summer “real” tournaments are over, I wanted to get back to running some of these. This tournament is for Super Street Fighter 2 Turbo HD Remix tournament is only open to European XBox Live players. If you’re in America and are interested in playing something like this, please check out the WWL instead! 🙂

When: This coming SUNDAY 2nd OCTOBER, 2pm UK-time (14:00 GMT) start. These tournaments usually take around 2.5 hours, but it could take longer, so please be committed to play all afternoon and into the evening if necessary due to numbers.

As with last time, if you are not online on XBL at the start time, I will consider you to have dropped from the tournament. It will usually take at least 10 minutes for me to randomise the first round bracket and message everyone with their matches, so PLEASE BE PATIENT at the start and don’t send me messages asking me if it’s on etc. It is 😉 It just takes a while to sort out the 1st round as it depends on who turns up. This is the same reason why everyone has to be on time, as once I’ve made the brackets I cannot easily drop or add people without spoiling the integrity of the tournament – apart from in rare circumstances where an extra person or two makes the bracket easier. But if you want to be sure you can enter, be online in time!

Location: XBox Live

Signups:

Signup by Saturday 2nd October by posting here or on the SRK forums to participate, or by messaging me over XBL. Please do not signup until you are sure you can play on the date/time above.

Some late signups on the day MAY be allowed, but I cannot guarantee it, as noted above, it will depend on number of entrants.

Format:

Standard Double Elimination format. The number of signups will decide the exact nature of the event. Assuming we get 16 players or less, there will be a 16 player double-elimination bracket with first round Byes assigned as necessary, with seeding being based on previous results in my XBL events.

I will send an XBL message each round to all players as to who they are to play next. Tournament rounds after the first will be arranged by XBL messaging. ie: You will receive an XBL message each tournament round as to who you are to play next.

Each match will be a single best 3 of 5 rounds game (ie: the standard HDR “Ranked Match” setting).
All settings must be on default.
Akuma (Gouki, Demon) is banned.
You can pick any character to play (ie: the standard HDR blind pick). You are free to change character between rounds if you wish.
‘Turbo’ functions on joysticks or controllers are banned.

I recommend using a private 2-player match room on XBL. I will attempt to add all participants to my my XBL Friends List (which is visible) and also to the SF2HDR EU account Friends List so you should be able to find each other and invite each other into games easily.

Reporting Results:

Once your match is completed, BOTH participants must report their results over XBL message to me. All results will collated and later be posted here. Sadly I have not found a good way I can possibly report in real-time whilst also keeping the rounds running smoothly.

As usual, I only need to know who won and who lost, but if you want to report game-round scores or characters used etc, go ahead. If I only get a single report I will consider it accurate (eg: only the winner reports).

In the event people do not play, or there are discrepancies and disagreement in the results reported (or not reported), or any other kind of complaint reported, I will attempt to manage that. In the worst case scenario I will have to void the whole event if players do not co-operate, but I’m glad to say we’ve not had any problems yet at all. Don’t forget this is only an online tournament, and as such it isn’t too serious a deal – you should of course try your best to win, as that’s the whole point, but also look upon it as a chance to meet fellow SF2 players and have some fun. 🙂

Each tournament round if possible certain matches may be highlighted to be videoed by any player with available video equipment – please let me know if you can take videos and if you can, please do so and upload them. If I ask you to record a match you are not playing in, we will create a private player room with extra slots for the observer(s) and invite the actual participants in. I will post all results and links to any videos later. If possible videos will be posted at the SF2 Europe youtube channel.

Good luck and good games!

RESULTS:

Due to numbers, there were four first round Byes. According to the rules these should have been seeded, however due to there being a lot of new players, this was not easy to calculate quickly, and so to make sure the 1st round could start in good time, I instead did pure random 1st round draws. I also made a mistake in hosting the final match and putting it on the wrong round count, and a few other players reported round/match settings being done incorrectly – so apologies for these minor hiccups, but I still think it went ok all round. Comments and criticism is very much welcomed though!

3 thoughts on “European SF2HDR Double Elimination XBox Live Tournament #4

  1. Sign Ups So Far:

    Remy77077
    PlanetRV
    KungFoo1
    jamesm0786
    JoeDaRipper
    DoomsDayDevice0
    Tschesae
    BlaezaLite
    COLUMBO79
    Guile75
    TH3BUCKFASTMONK
    ohfivepro (probable)
    Owwmykneecap
    Sharizord

    (ryuhoshi007 – awaiting confirmation)

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.